Curious

PB&J with a tall, ice cold glass of milk. Quintessential childhood meal. One that I have never enjoyed in my entire life. I only started eating PB about two years ago after swearing it off for over 10 years because I got a flu one year at camp and blamed it on a PB&J. Yeah. Years before that, in preschool, the same thing occurred with milk and I haven’t had a sip of the stuff since. Oddly enough at the same time I named my favorite stuffed animal Milky. I was weird.

I don’t even feel like I’m missing out, but a weird curiosity struck me this morning. Since my reintroduction to PB went well (a little too well), why not give milk a try with some cereal? It seems to be pretty popular. Most people recoil in horror when I tell them that I hate milk and always eat (and love!) dry cereal…and then they  laugh at the fact that I still eat it in a bowl with a spoon. HOW else would you eat it??? Anyway…this morning I tested it out with some Muesli, banana, and plum.

Success??

You see the shadow on the left side of the photo? Very symbolic of the other dark cloud that permeated my apartment as I took my first, and last bite. I even made another bowl with soy milk. Not happening either. On the bright side, at least this is one dairy product that I can officially cross of my list! Luckily I had a fall back that never fails me:

Egg White Oatmeal with Cinnamon, Banana and Raisins

2 Comments

Filed under Breakfast

2 responses to “Curious

  1. vz

    I eat dry cereal with a spoon too!! but only if I don’t have milk. Can’t believe you DON’T like milk!!! Maybe it’s like one of those stories your dad tells – everything is acquired taste, you just have to eat it 13 times 🙂

Leave a Reply

