We’re Jammin’

It has rained every single day in April. Without fail. The rain here in Hunan Province is bitter cold and of course both of my heaters are broken. Heater #1 is connected to a shoddy wall outlet and when I turn it on my room fills with smoke. Heater #2, space heater, was used so much that the bulbs burnt out. SO without the option of being a troll in my bed I decided on a different rainy day activity: making jam. I’m an old lady.

Boiling Berries

I didn’t try these berries before throwing them in the pot, and turned out these particular berries  had massive seeds/pits in them. FAIL. I ended up with maybe two tablespoons worth of super tangy jam since I didn’t add any sugar. Luckily it was the perfect amount for an afternoon snack:

Wasa Crackers with Homemade Jam and Almond Butter

Saturday and Sunday turned into a three day weekend after a class cancellation and somehow I was bored enough to recreate what I made for Saturday night’s potluck (plus some pineapple fried rice). I had a ton of leftover ingredients so I thought why not whip something up in case someone wants to come by and eat it….I ended up force feeding the guy I tutor and Jeff, the other volunteer at my school who lives upstairs.

Pad Thai

Closer

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/04/22/dining/21minirex.html?src=me&ref=homepage (without the oil, tofu, shrimp or peanuts)

Oil-Free Thai Style Pineapple Fried Rice

YES feeding my student counts as tutoring, its called food education people. I didn’t really feel like eating rice or noodles so I whipped up a steamed egg vegetable frittata like thing. I have no idea what to call this, but it was awesome. I’m really diggin’ open faced, steamed omelets since the vegetables and spices are dispersed throughout the eggs.

Steamed Omelet with Garlic, Scallions, Bean Sprouts and Cilantro

Followed by a little glass of heaven:

Mango Lemon Smoothie

1 mango, squeeze of lemon, 4 ice cubes. Blend.

Leave a comment

Filed under Almond Butter, Dinner, Shake, Snack

Leave a Reply

