Countryside

I spent the weekend in the BEAUTIFUL town of Yangshuo. It was surreal: good friends, great bike rides, rock climbing, and healthy/delicious food (by my crazy Western standards). The town kind of caters to foreigners but I completely ate it up and loved every second of it. A few highlights!

Rice Fields

Carrot Lemon Juice

The waitress almost didn’t let me order this because she thought it sounded disgusting. “I think this will not be very good.” mMMM carrot juice–so perfect when you don’t feel like just water but don’t want all the sugar of fruit juice.

Climbed the rock to the left

Mountains...or hills?

Carrot Orange Juice

The first time I ordered this they put MILK in it. AHHHH KILL ME.

Basil Garlic Hummus with Wasa Crackers

Mid rock climbing snack!! I made this at home and brought it along with my breakfast cookie (which tasted EXACTLY like a clif bar with no weirdo ingredients) and overnight oats. Hummus: Can of chickpeas, clove of garlic, fresh basil, S&P, blended. Most people add olive oil, tahini, lemon, etc. but I didn’t really feel like added fat or tartness–and it was fantastic.

Double Veggie Burger

My first veggie burger in a LONG time. Ordered homemade whole wheat toast on the side and replaced the bun that they gave me. Got a couple of weird looks but it was all good! AHH Yangshuo is so amazing….feels more like SE Asia than China and made me so excited to get back home =).

On another note–excited to work on rock climbing back in the states!! It’s such a great way to work out while having a blast–you barely even think about the fact that you’re exercising! My arms, shoulders and back are super sore, in the good way. Being sore is such a good indicator of having a great workout. Yessss.

2 Comments

Filed under China, Restaurant, Travel

2 responses to “Countryside

  1. Dude, this is awesome! Rock climbing is the best. I got really into it in college and miss it sooo much out here in Africa. Definitely check out a rock gym when you get back! Where are you from? I´m from Norcal and there´s a ton of amazing gyms around… join, hang out, you will make friends easily (climbers are a very social bunch!) and get invited on trips for outdoor climbing. Really the best thing ever. Good luck : ) And love the homemade hummus. I do that too, with a stick to mash it all up (no blender)… it will be SO WEIRD to go to the grocery store and buy it in a tub!!

    • Yeah it was great!! I haven’t been in like 5 years so I’m definitely out of practice. Gotta start up again. You’re so right it’s such a great way to meet people. CRAZYYY I’m from Norcal too…I grew up in Santa Rosa! Where are you from? I kind of relocated to NYC but I go back every so often (if I’m lucky). I think I’m gonna go into shock when I go into a grocery store at home…I can’t even imagine it.

Leave a Reply

